Senior Paper

Now that I’m in my final semester of Undergrad, it’s time to face that beast that haunts every college student’s dreams: the Senior Paper. Actually, I’m rather excited about it.

ORU’s College of Business has a great system for Senior Paper: each student has their choice of four paths to take:

  • Writing a Business Plan
  • Consulting with a local company
  • Membership in our Enactus chapter, with weekly work minimums
  • Creating a business, getting funding, and making a profit in Entrepreneurship

Entrepreneurship was originally my path of choice, until life’s circumstances pointed out that it wasn’t feasible. That was quite a disappointment, since I know I could have made a good profit with a one-man Income Tax business.

Instead, I’m taking the Business Plan route. For some, this is kind of the default path- the easiest way to just get the grade and move on. That’s not my focus at all. In fact, the grade’s just a necessary anecdote. This is about writing my business plan, for the business I intend to start someday. It’s about taking the first concrete step in what I fully know is a 5 to 10 year goal, and maybe longer. It’s about my dream. And it’s about facing the realities that I’ll need to confront and overcome to make that dream a reality.

That’s a tall order, to be sure. But I don’t feel like it’s too much to ask of myself. After all, I planned my college route four years ago. Some goals have changed over time, but I’ve never scaled back my plan. And in early May I’ll take a short walk and prove that I can plan for years ahead and end up exactly where I decide to be.

Happy MLK Day, everyone. It’s a good day to talk about dreams.

 

Thanks for reading,

-Taylor

Tags: , , ,

About Taylor Kothe

I'm a husband, accountant, and sometime blogger from Tulsa, Oklahoma. My passion is for personal finance, especially as it relates to teaching everyday people how to handle their everyday incomes and expenses. If you've ever found yourself lost in a rising tide of strange financial terms and incomprehensible policies, you're far from alone. So let's put our heads together and see if we can de-mystify some of the financial challenges that we all face.

Leave a Reply

